Government of India Government of India

Metropolitan and Union Territories

The MUT division deals with policy and schemes pertaining to the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs and relating to NCT of Delhi, NCR and other States and Union Territories of the country including the North-Eastern states, other. It assists the State Governments on matters of planning and development of their metropolitan and smaller towns by providing technical assistance and handholding in various aspects of urban planning and development. It also undertakes research studies on selected themes of urban development for empirical research.

The division also attends to works and references pertaining to MoHUA and inter-Ministerial matters. Important development guidelines, model bye-laws, manuals, planning toolkits, and various other reports are published and circulated to all the States/UTs and are used for reference and plan preparation by specialized agencies viz., Urban Development Authorities, Urban Local Bodies, Para-statals including the Private Sector.

The division is also responsible for preparing comments on Draft Cabinet Note/EFC/EEC note/Parliament Standing Committee references. Other technical works include monitoring and evaluation of various Central schemes and projects like UIDSST/AMRUT Mission/Smart cities Mission including maintenance of various statistical database like Census- 2011, Status of Master Plan for all urban areas, Data inventories for all Cities on Online Building Permission System, compliance to Model Building Bye Laws, 2016, and for monitoring Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Satellite Towns (UIDSST). Further, the division also attends to references on World Bank and ADB assisted urban development projects. Other works assigned by Secretary (Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs) and Joint Secretary (AMRUT) with regard to draft speech, talking points and advisories to State Governments pertaining to urban development.

The division has representation in various committees e.g. Heritage Conservation Committee, Chandigarh Coordination Committee, Technical Committee of Delhi Development Authority, Board of Directors (Ahmedabad Smart City) and various other inter-Ministerial committees.

The division is headed by Town & Country Planner and is assisted by Three Assistant Town & Country Planners and Two Research Assistants.

Important Links