Government of India Government of India

Plan Schemes

Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Small and Medium Towns (UIDSSMT)

TCPO is the nodal agency for monitoring of the Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Small and Medium Towns (UIDSSMT), a component of the JNNURM launched on 3rd December 2005.  The objectives of the Scheme are to:

  • Improve infrastructural facilities and help create durable public assets and quality-oriented services in cities & towns. Enhance public-private-partnership in infrastructural development and Promote planned integrated development of towns/cities.
  • During the main  Phase of the Mission period, 801 Projects and Transition phase 235 Projects total to  1036 projects were approved and ACA of Rs. 10041.36 Cr for 801 projects and Rs. 3692.45 cr. for 235 Projects was released. From AMRUT fund 31 ongoing UIDSSMT projects were assisted and   ACA of Rs. 437.52 Cr. was released in 2017-18. Total cumulative Additional Central Assistance of Rs 14,171.33 Cr was released for 1036 Projects. Total 466 projects have been physically completed which includes 297 water supply, 18 Sewerage, 33 Stormwater drains, 18 solid waste management, 7 urban renewal, 8 preservation of water body, 83 roads & 1 each parking and prevention of soil erosion. 

Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Satellite Towns (UIDSST) around 7 Megacities – Scheme Guidelines 

This flagship scheme of Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Satellite Towns (UIDSST) was launched for satellite towns around 7 Megacities. 7 Towns were covered under the scheme namely: Pilkhuwa and Sonepat (near Delhi), Sanand (near Ahmedabad), Vasai-Virar (near Mumbai), Vikarabad (near Hyderabad), Sriperumbudur (near Chennai), and Hosakote (near Bengaluru) focussing on the development of 3 sectors of essential infrastructure facilities like water supply, sewerage/drainage, solid waste management coupled with Reforms to enhance the delivery of services with respect to the benchmarks set out.

National Urban Information System (NUIS)

Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs has launched National Urban Information System (NUIS) Scheme in March 2006 to develop GIS databases for 137 towns/cities Total no. of towns in NUIS Scheme is 152. The inclusion/addition/deletion of towns as requested by State Govt. and approved by TAC) in the country in two scales i.e., 1:10,000 and 1:2000. Apart from spatial data, the Scheme has another component i.e. National Urban Data Bank and Indicators (NUDBI). The spatial and attribute databases thus generated will be useful for preparation of Master/Development plans, detailed town planning schemes and serve as decision support for e-governance. The total outlay of the scheme is Rs. 66.28 Crores of which 75% will be borne by the Central Govt. and the 25% will be the State, matching share. The work of spatial data will be undertaken by the Survey of India, Dehradun,the National Mapping Agency. Memorandum of Understanding has been signed between Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs and the National Mapping Agency on 13th March 2006 for Urban Spatial data generation.

Integrated Development of Small and Medium Towns (IDSMT)

TCPO has been monitoring the Integrated Development of Small and Medium Towns (IDSMT) since its inception in 1979-80. Under the Scheme 1854 towns from all the states and UTs have been covered and a Central Assistance of Rs. 1069.90 crore has been released. The scheme helped in improving the infrastructural facilities in small and medium towns. The Scheme has now been subsumed in the new scheme of UIDSSMT since 2005-06.

 Urban Mapping Scheme

To meet the requirement of base maps for towns and cities, a pilot scheme for preparing large-scale urban maps using aerial photography for 53 towns was taken up durin the Eighth Five Year Plan.  The project envisaged the development of technical capabilities of the town planning organizations at Central and State level so as to enable updating of the maps in a revision cycle.   In the first phase, 25 towns from six States were selected on priority basis for coverage under this scheme, in consultation with the State Governments, by the Town and Country Planning Organisation (TCPO), the implementing agency.  The work of aerial photography and mapping was assigned to NRSC.  Subsequently, aerial photography and mapping of 25 towns from 19 states covered under the second phase were identified and entrusted to NRSC. The entire Work of Aerial photography and mapping of all 53 towns has been completed by NRSC in December 2004. All the maps generated under the Scheme have been sent to respective State Town Planning Departments for their use. 


Important Links