Government of India Government of India

Schemes & Projects

Pilot on Formulation of Local Area Plan (LAP) and Town Planning Schemes (TPS), (2018).

This is a sub-scheme under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT). The goal of this scheme is to support the preparation of Local Area Plans (LAP) and Town Planning Scheme (TPS) on a pilot basis in 25 States/ Cities and build local capacity for undertaking such planning tasks. States Planning bodies are therefore expected to be able to undertake this exercise on their own after the pilot, in rest of their towns and cities to meet the challenges of planned urban development.

Online Building Permission System (OBPS) for all AMRUT towns and Cities, (2018).

In line with the “Third Part Audit” of OBPS systems implemented by Municipal Corporation of Delhi and Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai, the division is also reviewing and monitoring the implementation of OBPS in all 500 AMRUT towns, as per the issued OBPAS Guidelines, starting with the OPBS implemented in 9 States with varying degrees of success in implementation.

Smart City Mission (Central Scheme), 2015

- Monitoring of SMART CITY Mission

The Divisional Head has been nominated (and represents MoHUA) as the “Nominee Director” on the Board of Directors of Smart City Ahmedabad Limited (SCAL) and undertakes monitoring of projects being implemented under the said Mission at Ahmedabad.

Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Satellite Towns (UIDSST) around 7 Megacities – A Pilot Scheme (2010)

Concentration of economic activities and population in megacities like Mumbai, Kolkata, Delhi, Chennai, Hyderabad, Bangalore, and Ahmedabad created tremendous strain on essential infrastructure facilities and was affecting the delivery of services. Management of cities became more challenging with unprecedented increase in demand for infrastructure, facilities and amenities leading to problems and creating a growing need for decentralization of activities to reduce the burden on these cities. Therefore, besides the ongoing JNNURM implementation in 65 Indian cities, the then, Ministry of Urban Development had undertaken the flagship scheme of UIDSST, around 7 Megacities. 7 Satellite Towns were covered under the Scheme namely: Pilkhuwa and Sonepat (near Delhi), Sanand (near Ahmedabad), Vasai-Virar (near Mumbai), Vikarabad (near Hyderabad), Sriperumbudur (near Chennai), and Hosakote (near Bengaluru).

Important Links